“Little Princes”– Book Review (Guest Post)

About two weeks ago I received an email from a readers about an author she had recently met and a book recommendation that she had for me. So of course, I wound up in a bookstore not long after that, taking her up on her suggestion. I asked if she would be willing to write a guest post about it and she agreed. Her timing is perfect because I just finished the book last night, and also found it enjoyable. So thank you to “Navajo Keti” for the review!

-*-*-*-*-*-

Like “C” I am one to stop all traffic when I find something related to Nepal, so I thought “oh lucky day” when I came across a meet and greet with author of Little Princes- One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal by Connor Grennan. I was excited not only because this was related to Nepal, but this summer I’m planning my first trip to KTM on a volunteering trip in an orphanage. The book follows Grennan’s initial plan to travel around the world, where volunteering at Little Princes Orphanage was intended to be a pit stop in his one year trek around the world. But at the end of his yearlong excursion despite load shedding, lack of plumbing, and more than enough dal bhat (which he describes with such humor) he is hooked; to Nepal and the smiling faces of Little Princes. The story follows Grennan’s discovery that the children of Little Princes are not orphans but victims of Nepal’s civil war. Grennan not only changes his career plans but ends up starting a NPO- Next Generation Nepal where he treks to the most undeveloped parts of Nepal to reconnect the children with their begotten parents.  I’ll admit this book had my mind pondering for a while, mostly because by the time you finish the book, YOU feel like you have established a connection with the children. Grennan’s coming of age story is beautiful and makes me anticipate my May 15 departure even more.

I told them the truth. I told them I loved Nepal, I loved spending time with them and living here in the village. But I had to go home, and I would likely not be able to make it back for a few years, when they were all much bigger. I had to start a new career. I was completely broke, and I had to buy food and rent a home.

“And get married, yes, Brother?” said Santosh, smiling.

“Uh — yeah. Well, no — not really, to be honest. I think you will be married before me, Santosh,” I said, happy that the children took this as a joke.

Then the children started with a chorus of “What about me, Brother? You will be married before me?” and I had to go through the whole list of children, all the way down to assuring Raju that yes, even he would probably be married before me.

Photo credit: Little Princes-- Grennan with the boys

-*-*-*-*-*-

If you want to hear more from Conor Grennan you can view the following videos and if you want to learn more about his organization Next Generation Nepal click HERE.

Leave a comment