USCIS Round Five, a Document, another Photo Question, and a Departure…

Round OneRound TwoRound ThreeRound FourRound FiveRound Six, Round Seven, Round Eight

So for those of you following P’s USCIS document saga I’ve got good news… he should be departing any minute from Tribhuvan International Airport in KTM. To recap, click on the links above.

I last left you sobbing in my office and drinking a bottle of wine in Connecticut with friends for consolation after USCIS sent P’s documents to the wrong address, sent me the wrong tracking number, and delayed the process yet again. I was so upset, and unreasonable, I drove two hours south to R and S’s place for the night. Besides the obvious jetlag bringing tears to my eyes, I got stuck in a rut thinking about how each new document issuance from USCIS took at least 4-5 days, and the fastest document mailing to Nepal from the US was at least 4-5 days, so with their latest screw up we would probably have to change P’s return tickets again—at $200 a pop—with no definite end in sight. It felt like the document errors might continue on in an endless careless cycle, like the USCIS staffer was angry at me personally for involving congressional help, and wanted to see how many times he could eff with me until I totally lost it.

The morning after my “crazy freak out” I drove back up to my office in Massachusetts and was shocked to see an email from the congressional liaison. In her usual abbreviated style it said, “Hello, the UPS tracking # for package to [congressional liaison]/[congressman] [congressman’s office address] is: XXXXXXXXXXX for next day delivery.” It didn’t say anything else. I checked the tracking number and it was already on its way east from Missouri.

I’m not quite sure what the congressional liaison did or who she contacted or what she said but apparently it worked. There was no way that the documents that were “returned to sender” the day before had already made it back to the Missouri USCIS Service Center, so someone must have issued a new document on the spot and stuck it in the mail.

I certainly had my doubts that this round of documentation was actually going to work. I had been fooled three times before. So I waited patiently, and without getting my hopes up, until the following day, and checked the tracking number again. The website confirmed that the package was already on a truck for delivery in the correct city in Massachusetts. Well that’s a good start, I thought. At 10:20am I received a message from the congressional liaison’s blackberry that said, “Your documents are in my office, do you want to pick them up”—I tossed on my coat and fired back a message, “I’ll be there in ten minutes!” and ran out to my car.

She was in a meeting when I arrived at the office, but she saw me coming through the glass conference room window that faced the street. She greeted me in the hallway with her arms extended, a USCIS envelope in-hand. I hugged her and simultaneously ripped open the letter.

“That’s him, right? That’s his photo?” She asked.

“Yes!”

“And all the information is correct?”

I quickly skimmed the letter, and everything seemed in order. I thanked her again, and again, and probably a third time too, then I was back out the door and in my car, heading back to my office to call P in KTM.

P was on google chat when I got back to the office. He had been tracking the package too and messaged me as soon as he saw the delivery confirmation:

10:34 AM P: says it’s delivered

[he had to wait patiently for me to get back from the congressman’s office]

11:04 AM me: It is
I have it in my hand
I’m scanning it to you now
I was just going to call you

P: all good?

11:05 AM me: looks it
your info
your picture
there are 2 copies

P: phew!

me: I’m sending one and keeping one just in case

P: which pic
the one we sent later [Round Three]

me: I’m not sure which picture
you are wearing glasses
so I guess the later one, right?

P was asking about the picture on the document. When we first sent off his Green Card application packet we both went to a local photographer to get passport sized photos. When I applied for my first passport in 2002 I was able to wear my glasses, and since I wear my glasses every day I don’t think I look like myself in photos where I don’t have my glasses on. I remember arguing a bit with the photographer about whether or not I could wear my glasses in my passport photo, which would have been my preference, but he refused to take pictures of either of us in glasses, so all our original photos were sans spectacles.

If you remember back to Round Three, the USCIS official in Missouri absolutely insisted that the ONLY way to fix the document problem [my photo on P’s paperwork] that they screwed up was to send a brand new hardcopy passport photo overnight mail to their office—even though they had six passport photos of P in his green card application sitting on this guy’s desk at the Service Center. As we were in Nepal, the only way to do this was to take a picture in KTM, send it digitally to a friend in Massachusetts who would have to print it at a store, then take it to the congressman’s office for additional paperwork, then FedEx it overnight to Missouri. With the time difference between Nepal and the US and the document mailing time, the whole process took about two or three days.

P: what??
i did not wear glasses in any photo?

me: you definitely have glasses on

11:07 AM P: i never sent a picture with glasses on
are you sure?

[I double checked my email, and the digital passport photo P took in KTM and we sent to our friend, was indeed, without his glasses.]

me: you’re right
it isn’t the later picture

P: i don’t have glasses on even in the first picture

me: but it is definitely you [in the photo]
I don’t know where they got this photo from then

11:08 AM P: how can they have a photo with glasses on?
does not make sense

me: did you take a photo for your biometrics [part of green card application–Round One] with glasses on?
I don’t know how it happened
but it’s here
so I’m not asking questions
I’m putting it in a DHL envelope and sending it now

[meanwhile I scanned him a copy of the document]

11:09 AM P: yah
jeezus
don’t know how they go these pictures

me: did you have glasses on for biometrics?

P: maybe

11:10 AM me: so they probably got it from the system
when they screwed up the last time
I think they must have done an emergency reprint when the congressman’s office called super angry

P: think so

me: so sending the package through DHL the fastest method
you can track the package
once I have the tracking number I’ll give to you
11:11 AM alright

P: do they give us a time?
DHL?

me: when we send documents to our students in China
it usually takes 4 days
so if it goes today
Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday
that’s 6 days
it should be enough

P: ok

When my boss got back from his student recruitment trip in Turkey and Greece he wanted to hear all about P’s document saga. Probably the most embarrassing and maddening part of this whole plot is that I work in the immigration field. I might not work with Green Card Applications and Advanced Parole Documents on a daily basis, but I’m at least used to the lingo, and the agencies, and I know the people to call, and who not to call (or at least the number I shouldn’t have called in Round Two). I know I submitted all my paperwork correctly, and other than the request for expediting, which is not totally unusual either, I know I followed all the correct protocol and procedures. And still USCIS messed with me. I’m kind of in shock… and I mentioned this in a comment on one of the previous posts, but I realize just how scary the entire immigration process can be—as an American we kind of take the process for granted. I can’t imagine what it is like for people who don’t know the system, or the correct forms and terms, or who to turn to for help. Not to mention those who struggle with English. No wonder the system is so messed up! I’ve certainly been humbled!

I received an email from the immigration attorney who was offering advice during this process. On November 15 USCIS is having a teleconference discussion on issuing I-765 and I-131 (work and travel) documents. He encouraged me to participate in the teleconference and explain my story. My boss was saying that, in the very least, I should write a complaint to the USCIS ombudsmen or to AILA (American Immigration Lawyer Association).

Meanwhile I have people telling me to keep my mouth shut so that P and I don’t get in trouble and P doesn’t get stuck without paperwork as retaliation or punishment. The US system isn’t supposed to work that way, but when the system fails you, you feel so powerless. My mother even called me after I posted a frustrated facebook message after the mailing mishap, “USCIS messed up again! I’m so angry I could literally shoot someone!” and said, “Take that down! You want to get in trouble?” While my grandmother said, “I know you came back from Nepal with most of the luggage, but make sure P has at least one suitcase, if he travels that far without baggage he will look so suspicious!”

A final comment about the photo—my boss said that once an applicant takes their biometrics photo, there is always a digital passport photo in the immigration system. When USCIS insisted that the only way to fix the problem was by sending a new hardcopy photo, the USCIS officer was wrong. I’d like to think that maybe he was mistaken or misinformed, but it could be that they were buying time, or stalling, or just being malicious. I don’t know. Unfortunately the congressional liaison didn’t realize this. So—if any of you are ever in a similar situation… don’t send them an overnight delivery hardcopy passport photo. Send the required photos with your application, but anything else beyond biometrics is unnecessary! The digital photos are in the system!

So anyway, this is where the story hopefully concludes (for now). I didn’t want to say anything until P received the document in the mail [happened on Monday KTM time] and was ready to depart, least the bad-luck-juju that has been following me acted up again. He should be here Thursday night baring any crazy issues at Boston Logan Airport.

Our Green Card interview is on October 31st at the same USCIS Lawrence Field Office I drove to in Round Four. Wish us luck!

7 responses to “USCIS Round Five, a Document, another Photo Question, and a Departure…

  1. What a nightmare! Glad you two will be reunited soon. Luckily UK immigration has been pretty straight forward for me, but I’m due for a visa renewal in February and already dreading it!

    • I went to a baby shower with a bunch of Nepali friends this past weekend and they were joking, “P didn’t have to struggle to find a job to sponsor H1B or Green Card so he had to have a struggle somewhere…” so hopefully we paid our “struggle” dues and the rest will (knock wood) be better…

  2. That’s great news and good luck for your interview. I think Australian Immigration is bit easier than US. It does take almost 6 months to get Spouse Visa and 2 more years to get Permanent Residence but you don’t have to go through interviews. And you don’t have to follow up. After 2 yrs , they send you a letter to pick up PR label from their office.

  3. Huge nightmare. I really hope that this is just a paranoid and exaggerated fear about retaliation issues for ringing the bell about incidents like this one. You really should report this.

  4. I hope everythings will be fine. Wish you and P good luck.
    Germany immigration ist hard too……

  5. Good luck! Just seen your post. Already subscribed but not getting the emails. Will have to try and fix this.

  6. Me (Nepali) and my wife (American) had our interview yesterday, it went very well. Actually it was our second interview, and we were separately asked questions. Nothing to be worried about, just take lots of bonafide marriage docs, photo albums etc etc.
    Best wishes to you guys.

Leave a Reply

