“Marrying Out”

National Geographic this month has a short article on “Marrying Out” as part of their continuing series on population. It briefly highlights that marriage demographics are changing in the US (using Barak Obama as an example– when his mother married in the early ’60s only 1 in 1,000 marriages were between someone of African descent and a Caucasian, however now it is 1 in 60).

[Nat Geo article pdf]

The article visually represents different spouse pairings, and explains that black women are least likely to intermarry while Asian men are second least likely. (hmmmm!)

The information is based on a report by the Pew Research Center by the same name with the tag line, “One-in-Seven New US Marriages is Interracial or Interethnic.” I haven’t had the chance to read the report yet, but I thought I would share.

It’s kind of reassuring. I started this blog because sometimes I felt like I was the only one who had cross-cultural issues. Sometimes when I talk to my family, they make me feel like the only one in the world who wants a bi-cultural household, or wants to organize two weddings to highlight different cultural traditions, or wants to learn another language– but you know, we are not alone. And it feels good.

4 responses to ““Marrying Out”

  1. You are certainly not alone – there are a small band of us out there that are going through the same stuff. But I’m surprised to hear that Asian men are the second least likely to marry out.

  2. Hmmm, interesting article! Though I’m not so surprised about the Asian statistic! Eastern Family pressure can be a hard nut to crack (I was so shocked when my in-laws liked me I kept doing things to make them hate me!).
    On a serious note, I think more people would marry out if the infrastructure followed sink; in our case, neither UK immigration works in our favour, nor the red tape of the Islamic Republic of Iran! This only leads to feeling ostracised from family etc. My family are the living, breathing epitome of ‘White Anglo-Saxon protestant; life is an interesting (if not challenging), learning curve for all!

  3. magnificeint articles thank you so much for sharing them

Leave a Reply

