Black? White? Asian? More Young Americans Choose All of the Above

I can’t pass up reposting another article I just saw on Facebook–

The New York Times today had an article on the growing population of young Americans of “mixed-race.” The article focuses on how mixed-heritage is no longer something to shy away from.

“I think it’s really important to acknowledge who you are and everything that makes you that,” said Ms. Wood, the 19-year-old vice president of the [University of Maryland “Multiracial and Biracial Student Association”]. “If someone tries to call me black I say, ‘yes — and white.’ People have the right not to acknowledge everything, but don’t do it because society tells you that you can’t.”

The article notes that 1 in 7 marriages in the US is between partners of a different race or ethnicity according to 2008-2009 data from the Pew Research Center. In July I’ll be part of that statistic, and eventually my children will as well.

The article was an interesting look into the identity issues of biracial/multiracial Americans, and I thought other readers might enjoy. To view the full text click HERE.

2 responses to “Black? White? Asian? More Young Americans Choose All of the Above

  1. This is great, I’ve noticed that lately, among my friends who are “white” but mixed race (latino, asian, etc) they are increasingly referring to themselves as biracial. I believe a lot of it has to do with being able to select more than one race on the census.

  2. I liked the article a lot and thought the author presented an astute piece on biracial heritage. For example, having this line in a mainstream news article is pretty progressive, although more detail could have been given:
    “Pessimists say that a more powerful multiracial movement will lead to more stratification and come at the expense of the number and influence of other minority groups, particularly African-Americans.”

    It’s great to get beyond “tragic mulatto” narratives when discussing biracial people, though. I also liked that the author included all types of biracial people, not just biracial black-white. The times, they are a changin. I shared the article on twitter after I saw you posted it on FB.

Leave a Reply

