Everyone Really Does Know Everyone…

I know, I know, I have probably beaten this topic to death, but it never ceases to amaze me.

N’s mother is staying with us for a little while, and unfortunately while visiting us her elder brother passed away back in Nepal. There was an article about it in one of the Nepali daily newspapers, and word had filtered out. So a few people have been calling her to make sure she is okay and offer their condolences.

One such person was none other than Jyoti Pathak, the author of the Nepali cookbook I reviewed a while back.

As I walked in the door from work, and came to say hello to Aunty and N in the living room, she shuffled off to the bookcase, handed me the cookbook and said, “She just called me on the phone.”

“Really? The author?” I asked, a bit surprised. Why am I still surprised?

“Yeah, she used to teach at the university where I taught, but she came to the US in the 1970s, and I haven’t spoken to her in 30 years. She called my daughter [niece] in New York to offer condolences, found out I was here, and called me. It was so nice to talk to her!”

So again, the Nepali world is small– (or as P corrected me earlier… “Kathmandu is small…”)

Another such example from the blog– a while ago I posted a documentary on “Birth in Rural Nepal.” While one of the blog readers was watching the video with her boyfriend he looked at the screen and said, “Hey, [the film maker] is my cousin-sister! I remember she said she was working on something for aljazeera”.

Tiny tiny world.

3 responses to “Everyone Really Does Know Everyone…

  1. yep, Nepal is small. The girl who made that documentary on Birth in Nepal is married to an ex coworker of mine!

    Come to think of it I probably have friends in common with you!!

  2. Hey C
    I found about your blogs few days back.And i am simply loving it.The way you express yourself is just amazing!!!
    Today i was going through your older posts and i came across one of the pics with your J phupu.Is she the same Prof JK who teaches nepali?If she is then i was one of her students during my plus two(college) days:)
    Indeed Nepal is a small place!!!

Leave a Reply

