Planting the Jamara (in pictures)

So, little did I know that traditionally men are in charge of the jamara planting ritual, but I took charge of our planting tonight, since I seemed to be most excited. Hopefully I didn’t commit some terrible taboo. First I took a shower to “purify” myself and then started the planting.

So what did I do?

Step one: Soaked the jamara seeds. You are supposed to soak them overnight, but I only soaked then for about 20 mins. My housemates said that was okay, hopefully it won’t disturb my jamara growing process…

Step two: Gathered materials… jamara seeds, container for the plants, and sand.

Step three: Filled the bottom of the container with sand

Step four: sprinkled jamara seeds in a single layer on top

Step five: covered with a thin layer of sand

Step six: Watered generously

Step seven: covered and stored in a dark place (the seeds grow better when moist and dark)

Step eight: water when necessary. Jamara should be moist but not swamped.

The plants are supposed to look yellowish green not green-green… so hopefully I start to see shoots soon.

I hope my little seeds grow. I’ll let you know what they look like in ten days!

4 responses to “Planting the Jamara (in pictures)

  1. you bought sand? we are getting it from the beach :) my mom said you don’t have to water it generously over the next 10 days – you don’t want it to be soggy – just sprinkle some. she even suggested sprinkling it in an interval of 3- 4 days, you don’t want to open it often.

    -R

  2. Good job!

    Wao, one can sell anything in the U.S. of A, even sand…
    Happy celebrations,
    Peace,

    Desi Girl

  3. What kind of sand are you using? I went to a local hardware store and asked for sand to grow barley and they said they only have sand for cat litter. Does that work?

    • I think any kind of sand will do, I think the key is not to have good soil, you don’t want something very nutrient rich, you want something like sand or bad quality dirt.

Leave a Reply

