ANA Coming to Boston

ANA, also known as “The Association of Nepalis in Americas,” is an organization created in 1983 by Nepalis (and friends of Nepal) to “promote preservation of Nepali identity and culture in the Americas, to foster cordial relations among Nepalis and Americans, and to demonstrate the effectiveness of the participation of Nepali-Americans in the communities they live in.”

The ANA website goes on to declare the following goals for the non-profit organization:

  • Continuity and promotion of the cultural, religious, linguistic, historical, and educational heritage of Nepal
  • Promotion and encouragement of dance, drama, and the art heritage of Nepal
  • Recreation and meditation center for Nepalis, Americans, and International guests
  • Research library and referral materials
  • Conference and meeting place for Nepalis and Friends of Nepal
  • Information for tourism, white water rafting, mountaineering, and trekking
  • ANA scholarship project for Nepali students from remote areas of Nepal
  • Nepali safe drinking water and medical assistance program for rural Nepal
  • Nepal emergency and disaster fund
  • Nepali school project for development of more schools in Nepal

A culminating event for the organization each year is the annual ANA Convention, a place where Nepalis (and friends of Nepal) can gather. The convention venue rotates around the US, but this year it just so happens to be in Boston. I’m hoping to attend for the first time.

I’ve asked around to others who have attended ANA conventions in the past. There are many different types of events held, including an opening ceremony, sporting events, academic and political discussions, DJ night, food festival, fashion show and cultural show. Nepalis of all ages have something to participate in. I’m particularly interested in the food festival and cultural show, but you can check the schedule of events for more information.

I think it is wonderful that the Nepali community continues to have such strong bonds, even within the diaspora, and I’m looking forward to the event. P and his brother, along with a few friends from the DC-Metro area are planning a trip up.

Anyone else planning to attend? Perhaps we can get a “significant other” group started at the convention.

3 responses to “ANA Coming to Boston

  1. Hello, so gland I found this blog. I have attended the ANA convention on 4th of July. I was wondering if any one from this blog will be attending the joint convention this Labor Day weekend in Kentucky. Hope to make new friends at this convention. Cheers!

    • Hi Jyotsana (I love your name!)

      Unfortunately I won’t be at the convention in Kentucky (we are going to Maine for the holiday weekend… hope it doesn’t get too rainy!) but I hope you have a great time– if I hear of anyone I know going, I’ll try to get you in touch!

      Thanks for the emails as well… I’ll write back later ;)

  2. Kathleen Geoghegan

    I LIVE in Lexington, KY and I didn’t even know this was going on this weekend!! I guess I do get my news from your blog!!!! Well, except for that guy who caught a golf course on fire in CA by swinging his club, hitting a rock and causing a25 acre fire…I saw that on Yahoo!

Leave a Reply

