Can You See Everest From Your House?

Nepal- a tiny country sandwiched between two giants

Nepal- a tiny country sandwiched between two giants

In general, most people know very little about Nepal. Some have never even heard of the country before, while others think it is in some other part of the world (Africa? South America? Blank stare?) In fact my mother, after having known P for some time, still referred to Nepal as “Nepal-India” for quite a while because she had at least heard of India before and knew it was a real country. I guess it was her way of creating some sort of visualization she could connect to, women wrapped in colorful fabric with dots on their foreheads, sure, I know where you are talking about…

First view of Mt. Everest from P and my trek

First view of Mount Everest from P and my trek. We made a trek to the Everest region in June for P's phd research. It was his first time to Solukhumbu, and we were only able to go 1/2 way to Base Camp due to time constraints. When P and I got back to Kathmandu many people in the city told me how lucky I was to see it, "It is in my country, and I've never laid eyes on it!"

Then there is a second group of people, those who have heard of Nepal’s great “claim to fame” Mount Everest (otherwise known as “Sagarmatha” in Nepali and “Chomolungma” in Tibetan) so thus they kind of know about Nepal. I pretty much fell into this category in the beginning. My freshman year in college I made friends with a few Nepali students and I remember a specific (and now kind of embarrassing) conversation. I had always associated “Kathmandu” with the starting point of most Everest expeditions I’d heard about in The National Geographic (my favorite magazine as a kid, heck, still my favorite magazine). I figured the city was basically at the base of the mountain.

Me: “So can you see Mt. Everest… from your house?” (eek… I sound like Sarah Palin)

Nepali friend: “You mean in Kathmandu?”

Me: “yeah, isn’t it really close?”

Nepali friend: “um, yeahsure… actually we used to climb part of it for gym class in high school. Once I made it to the top and we had a cup of tea.” He had me going for a little while until the blatant sarcasm at the end.

And now I know that the mountain is at least an hour plane ride away from the capital!

Actually, while I was writing this post, I did a quick “Google Chat” poll of Nepali friends who were online. I asked them, “When people find out you are from Nepal, what is the first thing they think of or ask you about?”

Friend 1: “Have you climbed Mt Everest, that’s one of the common questions”

Friend 2: “Have you climbed Mt. Everest?”

Friend 3: “(They become blank) and ask… Where is Nepal?”

Friend 4: “I don’t know if it’s the first thing, but many asked me if we have electricity or computers etc. Not that we don’t have power cuts, but I was like helloooo… I knew how to work on a computer before I came to the US… Someone asked my sister—how many times have you climbed Mount Everest?”

I think, more often than not, Nepali people (that I know) give the benefit of the doubt to others who genuinely don’t know anything about Nepal (Friend 4: “Many people don’t even know where Nepal is. So I have to start- it’s in Asia, in between India and China…”; Friend 3: “I use Mt. Everest as a reference to tell them where Nepal is…”)

As an American, I am not used to people not knowing anything about my home country, so it is hard for me to imagine what it might be like for my friends to run into this time and time again. I’m sure it has to be frustrating to get into conversations with people who have never heard of your country, and also a bit odd when all the knowledge someone has about your home is limited to only one small aspect of it—in this instance, Everest. I guess it is better to be associated with something like Mount Everest than having some other sort of affiliation with your country, like my poor Kazakhstani students who make a sign for their culture booth each year that says, “Borat is not from Kazakhstan.”

Photo from a Sherpa climate change festival P and I went to on our trek. These dancers/singers are probably Tibetan, although Sherpas live in both Nepal and Tibet

Photo from a Sherpa climate change festival P and I went to on our trek. These dancers/singers are in traditional dress and they are probably Tibetan. Sherpas live in both Nepal and Tibet

Probably the second most popular cultural association with Nepal, also tied to the idea of Mount Everest, are the Sherpa people. “Sherpa” can be a few things. There are “Sherpa” which is an ethnic group, but the term is sometimes used to refer to several ethnic groups that live in the Himalayan region that are sometimes lumped into the “Sherpa”

Sherpa--helping with mountain expeditions

Sherpa--helping with mountain expeditions

category because of their similarities with each other. Then there is the term “Sherpa” which has become a more generalized word for porters and climbers who help with annual mountain expeditions to Everest and other high altitude climbs in Nepal, Tibet (and sometimes India and Pakistan). Generally these porters are local people (but not always) whose bodies are better adapted to the thin atmosphere and rigors of hiking up and down the mountains. They may or may not be actual “Sherpa” but the term sticks.

So my next question in my informal mini poll was, “Does anyone think that you are a Sherpa because you are from Nepal, or make “jokes” about you being a Sherpa, even though they know you aren’t?”

Friend 1: “Yeah, I think I got called a Sherpa last Friday…”

Friend 3: “Not really, because people don’t generally know Nepal, so they don’t make the connection.”

Sherpa women (Sherpani) serve us local food during the festival

Sherpa women (Sherpani) serve us local food during the festival

Friend 2: “Not really, because I clearly don’t look like a Sherpa” (follow up question “But an American might not realize that…could it also be because you are a woman and people don’t necessarily associate Sherpas who climb Mt Everest–almost exclusively portrayed as men in documentaries and news about expeditions–with women?”) “I suppose most people have some vision of a Sherpa. But they do ask if [I’ve] climbed Mt. Everest, of course women can climb mountains too. Plus everyone thinks I shouldn’t complain about the cold because I am from Nepal and they think of the snow and mountains. Half the country is hot and tropical, we have jungles!”

P channels his "inner Sherpa" as he tries to carry our porter's load during a tea break

P channels his "inner Sherpa" as he tries to carry our porter's load during a tea break

Me: “P, does anyone else call you ‘Sherpa’ outside of my family?”

P: “Nope, its pretty much exclusively your family.”

A running “joke” with one of my uncles insinuates that since P is from Nepal he “must be” a Sherpa. When he sees P coming he calls out, “here comes the Sherpa!” and when my grandmother once asked if P was tired when holding one of my baby cousins my uncle said, “Sherpas are used to carrying heavy things! He’s fine.” After the Sherpa joke was well established, two Christmas’s in a row, two different aunts gifted P a “Sherpa blanket.” They thought it was pretty clever… Nepal has Sherpas, P is from Nepal… he will probably get a kick out of a Sherpa blanket!

P is so laid back anyway that he doesn’t take offense or care much either way about the jokes, but it is still a bit odd. I guess it is kind of like people in Nepal giving me cowboy hats for gifts and calling me “Texas” because during an 8 year period the world associated the US with George W Bush who famously considered himself Texan. That’s the only example I can think of.

Friend 1: “I actually think it is funny, considering that given the different ethnicities in Nepal, Sherpas are so popular. [I think] it’s because of the [mountaineering] industry and the Sherpas sheer awesomeness. They climb up that mountain as a job carrying all that heavy stuff for other people!”

Passing porters carrying heavy loads up the mountain trail...

Porters passing us carrying heavy loads up the mountain trail... I just had a back pack, and I was out of breath!

I agree, it is actually amazing to see the strength of some of the people up in the mountainous region in Nepal. In Solukhumbu, where P and I did our trek, the only way to transport almost all types of goods into the mountain villages was either by mule/yak caravan or by people hauling stuff on their backs. We watched people carry nearly 110 kilos up steep mountain passes to stock lodges for tourists and bring food and materials to the local people. We passed large stacks of plywood, window panes, large kerosine fuel tanks and boxes of heavy beer and sodas strapped to porters’ backs. The sheer power of the people we encountered was amazing, it was hard work for very little pay… with people often walking long distances in plastic flip flops on muddy steep passes.

This was probably all I could do... and I was just goofying around...

This was probably all I could do... and I was just goofing around...

Since I’m still not great with the kilo/pound conversion (or really any metric-to-standard conversion, I’m terrible in math), the heaviness of what the porters we saw were carrying (110 kilos…more than 240 pounds!!) didn’t really hit home until I was packing our bags for our return flight to the US. Four very large heavy suitcases were about 25 kilos each, a total of about 100 kilos. That was some math I could see! I couldn’t imagine tying these together and carrying them on my back up a rocky path.

So, how to now end this somewhat-stream-of-consciousness post? I guess the gist of it is, Nepal might be a small country that’s not on a lot of people’s radars, but good things to know so that you don’t seem silly if you find yourself talking to a Nepali person for the first time–Mount Everest is not at everyone’s doorstep (and no… they don’t run up the mountain for gym class to take tea on the summit), and not everyone is a Sherpa. It is a small place, but quite complex in lots of ways, with a diverse and interesting culture and history to explore.

And on a side note, I’ve told P… not to even think about climbing Everest. The risk is too high, and a lot of people come back with badly frostbitten fingers and toes, not to mention other things that could go wrong. After trekking near the mountain I think the idea of climbing it has become a bit alluring, but I stand my ground.

10 responses to “Can You See Everest From Your House?

  1. When I first met my husband, about the only thing I knew about Nepal is that Mt. Everest was there…well, that and Sherpas! He’s never been to a base camp either. I suppose it’s the same everywhere…I live in the US, but I’ve never seen the Grand Canyon.

  2. happinessandsimplicity

    I always learn something from your posts. I’m not afraid to admit I knew absolutely nothing about Nepal before finding out about your trips there and whatnot. I thought Everest was in Tibet. I guess that’s not too far off.
    Also, your blog title today… priceless. ;-)

  3. Technically half of Everest is in Tibet and half is in Nepal and I believe that communities in both countries revere the mountain as a deity. You can climb the mountain from either side, although (someone correct me if I’m wrong) I believe the “easier” side to climb is the Nepali side.

    Over the years there has been a bit of competition between Tibet (China) and Nepal to see who can gain the favor of Everest climbers by altering the timing and pricing of climbing permits (which are prohibitively expensive for most people… I tried to google the 2009 prices and couldn’t find it, but its probably around $50,000).

    I think when most people think about climbing Mt. Everest they are thinking about the Nepali side (even if they don’t realize it), because (in my opinion) it is the side that is most often described in climbing accounts: Edmund Hillary (who, along with Tenzin Norgay, was the first to summit) climbed from Nepal, as well as Jon Krakauer in his famous book “Into Thin Air” about the 1996 climbing disaster.

    Prior to Hillary’s historic ascent, most earlier attempts were made from the Tibetan side since Nepal had closed its borders to foreigners until the early 1950s.

  4. I’ll admit that I thought that most of Nepal was cold before I met any Nepalese – I mean, Kathmandu is at a pretty high elevation. But, apparently not.

  5. I love reading your blog…I have been reading quietly and not posting anything until today. Everything you write is so interesting (you should write a book someday!). I love National Geographic also (but maybe for different reasons…cuz I like to cut them up for art purposes). And even though it is not exactly the same, I’ve had people ask me if VT was in upstate NY. And that was in-country. Then they assume that since I am from VT, I must be a hippie. ha ha. Thank you for opening up my knowledge of the world with your posts. Also, Happy Diwali (Saturday, yeah?)

  6. Probably long ago I would have also thought of Sherpas and Everest…and also as a kid I was obsessed with Eddie Murphy films for a while, so I watched that move The Golden Child many, many times. I haven’t seen The Golden Child in my adult life, but I bet from an anti-racist standpoint that movie is basically a piece of crap. But how I loved Murphy and his Nepalese love interest as an 8 or 10 year old!!! Have you seen that movie?

    I told you about my housekeeper before, and I have a handful of Nepalese friends. My housekeeper is Lama but married to a Sherpa. Her mother was a Tamang. She always described Nepalese people we encountered (there are lots in Dubai) as what ethnicity they were and sometimes informed me (surely based on stereotypes) about whatever community people were. Having always thought of Sherpas as poor porters, it was interesting to me that she characterized them as shrewd business people and a monied community. She had the same to say about Newar people.

    Anyhoo…geeze my family can say dumb stuff to my husband about Pakistan. “Can you explain the Kashmir conflict?…etc” Sigh.

    Anyway, happy Diwali!

  7. it’s very beatiful place I had ever been.

  8. LuckyFatima: Actually there are quite a few “monied” people in the Sherpa community. Particularly in the Everest region… since it is one of the most popular trekking destinations in the world, the Sherpa people who own nicer guest houses are very wealthy. Some tend to have a house or two in Kathmandu and many send their kids abroad for education. One guest house we stayed at in Namche Bazar had lots of pictures of famous people on the wall, and a little plaque above the room that Jimmy Carter once stayed in.

    Then there are the Sherpas who are famous for making it to the summit of Everest a certain number of times. The more successful the climber, the more money he can demand as a porter and guide; although sadly even though the porters do 90% of the work on an Everest expedition they still receive far less than western guides.

    This isn’t to say there aren’t Sherpa communities that have poverty problems, there are certainly a fair share, but I heard on our trek that villages up to a 10-days walk off the main “Everest trail” still benefit economically from the region’s tourism.

  9. I wish I can visit this place. I heard about Nepal many times, but I am never been there. Thank you for sharing.

  10. Exactly! Very Nice post. I was actually writing blog about Mountaineering and melting mountain.
    We should never forget that it is the Himalaya that brought Nepal to the attention of the world.

Leave a Reply

